89479980_c4e5dca8fa_m

photo by: eliazar

 

On to continuing the discussion on ‘different’ churches. 

I’ve heard a lot of churches, or read on their websites, or wherever something like, ‘we’re different than other churches’. Now, I know they’re referring to non-impacting churches (which, let’s be real, there are a lot of those out there) or traditional churches, or whatever. Great, you’re not like other churches. When did other churches become the competition to yours?

Last I checked we weren’t supposed to be in competition with each other. In fact, and correct me if I’m wrong, but, I thought we were supposed to be working together to bring the Kingdom of God to the earth. But I digress….

Maybe if we stopped trying to compete with other churches we might actually start making some cultural progress.

So, who are you competing with? Well, in Atlanta, if you’re trying to reach college students or young professionals you’re probably competing with Saturday night, not Sunday morning. The young professional crowd is out at bars and clubs and the college crowd is out partying with each other (unless they’re at Tech, then you’re just competing with their dorm room and computers – yeah, seriously). That’s the real competition.

I’m still waiting for a church here that will realize this and spend painstaking hours praying, fasting, and dreaming up ways to compete with this, not with other churches. That will be a different church.

Thoughts?

