So, I thought I’d begin a weekly post I’m calling ‘Wrestling Wednesdays’. Basically, the point is that I’ll be posting things that have challenged/ministered/impacted me in the past week; that stuff that’s got me wondering, thinking, and wrestling. It may be one thing or a bunch. Who knows, we’ll find out as we go. 

I figured we would kick this thing off with a little Tim Keller:

  • I’m currently reading Tim Keller’s new book ‘The Prodigal God’. Fantastic book. (If you’re still reading what I’m writing you’re not moving fast enough to the bookstore to pick this one up. And if you live in the south you may want to pick up two copies – one for reading, one for notes). Check out this quote:

Jesus’s teaching consistently attracted the irreligious while offending the Bible-believing, religious people of his day. However, in the main, our churches today do not have this effect. The kind of outsiders Jesus attracted are not attracted to contemporary churches, even our most avant-garde ones. We tend to draw conservative, buttoned-down, moralistic people. The licentious and liberated or the broken and marginal avoid church. That can only mean one thing. If the preaching of our ministers and the practice of our parishioners do not have the same effect on people that Jesus had, then we must not be declaring the same message the Jesus did.”

      Dang, that’s challenging…

  • Speaking of that very thing. Check out this video of Penn (from Penn and Teller) that’s been circulating a lot of the blogs I read. Also really stinkin’ challenging!

 

I’m challenged by this. What is it about the Christian faith that we need to recapture? And by ‘we’ I’m referring to you (if you’re reading this blog) and me (the guy writing this blog). Jesus transformed culture as he went, and by transformed, I mean, caused a huge stinkin’ ruckus everywhere he went. People went to great lengths to be around this man. So, unless the Christian message is accomplishing this in your life, you probably fit into that ‘you’ category.

What can we do as Christians to recapture the hearts and attention of the ‘licentious and liberated’, ‘broken and marginal’ that surround us every day?

Discuss amongst yourselves…

Oh, and Merry Christmas to you all!!!

