I had a disturbing experience the other day…

I met a guy and began a conversation. We talked for a while and it came about that he is a Christian. As we continued to talk about faith and God I realized that he had no concept of what sin really is. I asked a few probing questions that took the conversation a bit deeper. 

I ended up giving the gospel to this guy. Very simple, nothing over the top, no real preaching or anything, just a conversation about the gospel and what it really is. What our sin really is, what that means for us and the amazing fact that Jesus would pay the price for us. Pretty simple but profound stuff.

What disturbed me greatly was his response. He said, ‘I’ve sat through church my whole life and never heard this before.’ 

That literally stopped me in my tracks. What I had just told him was the foundation of the entire Christian faith and this guy has sat through CHURCH (Christian Church!) his whole life and never heard this. We’ve got a lot of work to do…

